When beauty meets sustainability

5 07 2008

The other day I subscribed to Reactions a blog that was recommended to me by a friend. It is written by the graphic design firm MSLK, a local company (Long Island City) with an obvious feeling for sustainability. It makes me laugh and injects some much-needed inspiration that sustainable design doesn’t have to look like it’s off “the bottom shelf of the health food store” (that quote is unattributed because I can’t for the life of me remember where I read it – but so often apropos).

Lately I have been feeling that “green-ness” (is that a word) has been taking over all other aspects of design. We recently toyed with the idea of applying for LEED certification for one of our projects and I started getting completely wound up in the minutia of the green details and losing sight of the importance of aesthetic and experiential aspects of the project . Talk about losing the forest for the trees!

Kudos to this firm for sharing!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

