Yes we can! – Our electrical bills are lower than this time last year.

14 01 2008

electrical-costs.jpg

I downloaded the last 2 years worth of our electrical usage from Con Ed. I was curious because we made our heating system more efficient (I still have to download and graph our gas usage but I’m too nerded-out for the day), switched to compact fluorescents throughout the house, turned off the humidification system which wasn’t working well anyway, and re-programmed the thermostats.

We also switched to wind power last September so I expected that our reduced consumption would be offset by the increased electrical costs.

However, I’m happy to see a 23% net reduction in usage and a net 21% savings of $616.13 comparing 2007 to 2006!

I admit that the graph is not particularly dramatic because I had to make adjustments for estimated bills, and the ESCO cost are not included in the Con Ed download… but it provides the general answers I was looking for.

This year the plan is to increase the insulation value of the walls and roof wherever practical and see how that affects usage.

Actions

Information

One response

30 01 2009
2. How much energy do you really use? : toeprintproject

[…] a year ago, I downloaded my electrical usage and found that we saved over $600 mostly from switching from incandescent to compact fluorescent light bulbs. I’m going to get […]

Leave a Reply

